Skip to main content
Skip to main content

The History and Philosophy of Biology - Past Achievements, Future Challenges

September 28 - 29, 2018

History and Philosophy of Evolutionary Biology: Past Achievements, Future Prospects 

A Conference Sponsored by the Werkmeister Bequest to the Philosophy Department

 

Friday morning (9:30-12:30): “History of Evolutionary Biology: Past Achievements.” 

 

Session Chair: Jack Justus

Ron Numbers (rnumbers@wisc.edu): “Creationism”

Polly Winsor (polly.winsor@utoronto.ca): “The Revolutionary Nature of Darwin's Thinking as Shown by Strickland's Chart”

David Sepkoski (sepkoski@illinois.edu): “Sociobiology and Ideology: or, was Ed Wilson really all wet?”

Mark Borrello (borrello@umn.edu): "The Renaissance of Group Selection: Is Michael Ruse all wet?”

 

Friday afternoon (2:00-5:00): “Philosophy of Evolutionary Biology: Past Achievements.”

 

Session Chair: Ron Doel

Derek Turner (dtur@conncoll.edu): "Have philosophers helped us understand macroevolution?”

Robert Richards (r-richards@uchicago.edu): “The Romantic Source of Archetype Theory and Owen’s Plagiarism.”

Paul Thompson (p.thompson@utoronto.ca): “Codifying the Structure of Evolutionary Theory”

Pete Takacs (ptakacs@fsu.edu): "Philosophy of Biomedicine for the 21st Century.”

 

FRIDAY EVENING:  Private dinner for participants

 

Saturday morning (10:00-1:00): “Science and Religion” 

 

Session Chair: John Kelsay

Ed Larson (ed.larson@pepperdine.edu): "With a Creationist as Secretary of Education and a Conservative Supreme Court, What is the Ongoing Significance of the Scopes Trial?”

Mike Peterson (mike.peterson@asburyseminary.edu): "Theism as the Proper Worldview Home of Science.”

John Beatty (john.beatty@ubc.ca): "It pleased the Creator that . . . Capricious God and Capricious Nature in the Darwinian Revolution”

 

Saturday afternoon (2:30-5:00): “History and Philosophy of Biology: New Directions” 

 

Session Chair: Christopher Pynes

Grant Ramsey (grant.ramsey@kuleuven.be): “What is the philosophy of biology?”

Betty Smocovitis (bsmocovi@ufl.edu): “Is a New Evolutionary Synthesis Necessary? Rethinking Stebbins and Ayala (1981) in Light of the Extended Synthesis”

Richard Richards (rrichard@ua.edu): "The Biology of Art.”

 

SATURDAY EVENING: Fish fry chez Ruse (6:00pm) — all invited

Friday, September 28

More dates through September 29, 2018

Strozier Library, Scholars Commons
116 Honors Way, Tallahassee, FL 32306, Tallahassee, FL https://www.lib.fsu.edu/

Event Type

Conferences

Departments

Colleges, Arts and Sciences, College of, Philosophy

Tags

Featured Events, UCFeatured

Group
All Audiences
Contact Name:

Jeff O'Connell

Contact Email

jmoconnell@fsu.edu

Subscribe
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity