Skip to main content
Skip to main content

University Symphony Orchestra (UMA) - Ticketed

The University Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Dr. Alexander Jiménez, opens its season on Friday, September 22, at 7:30 p.m. in Ruby Diamond Concert Hall.



The first half of the program features the 2017 winner of the Doctoral Concerto Competition, pianist Chun Paige Li, a doctoral candidate in piano and a student of Professor Read Gainsford, performing Bela Bartók’s final work, the Piano Concerto No. 3. Already quite ill during the composition of this work, part of it was sketched while Bartók was recuperating in Asheville, North Carolina. The first and second movements include references to his time in Asheville at what is now the Albemarle Inn.

The second half of the concert features the last symphonic work of Johannes Brahms, his Symphony No. 4 in E minor. One of the monumental works of the orchestral repertoire, the 4th seems to speak to a summation of Brahms’s life, much like the Bartók is of his.


This performance is part of the University Musical Associates Concert Season. Tickets can be purchased through the College of Music Box Office: (850) 645-7949.  Adults: $10; Seniors & non-FSU students: $7; FSU Students: Free w/ ID.

The box office is open Monday-Friday from 11am-2pm; and opens at 6pm the night of the performance. Tickets may be purchased up until 7:30pm.

Friday, September 22, 2017 at 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Ruby Diamond Concert Hall

Event Type

Arts/Entertainment, Music & Concerts, General


Colleges, Music


musicFSU, orchestra, Symphony, USO


$10 general admission; $7 seniors/nonFSU students; FSU students free with ID.

Google Calendar iCal Outlook